Water Utilities Recognized for Sustainable, Future-Focused Innovations

Twenty-five water utilities have been selected for recognition of their leadership in community engagement, watershed stewardship, and recovery of resources such as water, energy, and nutrients. Utility of the Future Today recognition celebrates the achievements of forward-thinking, innovative water utilities that are providing resilient value-added service to communities.

The Utility of the Future framework provides a model for utilities of all sizes to achieve more efficient operations, enhanced productivity, and long-term sustainability. The recognition program component, Utility of the Future Today, was launched in 2016 by four water sector organizations—NACWA, the Water Environment Federation (WEF), the Water Environment & Reuse Foundation (WE&RF) and WateReuse, with input from EPA.

The Utility of the Future concept is being promoted as the nation’s water systems transform operations through innovation and technology. The 25 utilities recognized in 2017 were chosen by recovering resources from wastewater, engaging in their community, forming unique partnerships, and building an internal culture of innovation.

NACWA CEO, Adam Krantz, congratulates the new recognition recipients, noting that “these utilities are doing incredible, innovative work to advance our communities’ and nation’s environmental well-being and economic viability. Hopefully these utilities will inspire others to move forward to make the Utility of the Future the utility of today as well.”

The following utilities are being recognized for the first time:

  • Atlantic County Utilities Authority (New Jersey)
  • Beaufort-Jasper Water & Sewer Authority (South Carolina)
  • Brunswick Regional Water and Sewer (North Carolina)
  • Chesterfield County Department of Utilities (Virginia)
  • City of Cape Coral (Florida)
  • Little Rock Water Reclamation Authority (Arkansas)
  • City of Phoenix (Arizona)
  • City of Quincy (Washington)
  • City of Raleigh Public Utilities Department (North Carolina)
  • City of St. Cloud (Minnesota)
  • Columbus Water Works (Georgia)
  • Greenville Renewable Water Resources (South Carolina)
  • Greenwood Metropolitan District (South Carolina)
  • Hanover Sewerage Authority (New Jersey)
  • Lancaster Area Sewer Authority (Pennsylvania)
  • Loudon Water (Virginia)
  • Lowell Regional Utility (Massachusetts)
  • West County Wastewater District (California)

These utilities are being recognized for a second year, and for a new area of performance:

  • City of Fayetteville (Arkansas)
  • DC Water (District of Columbia)
  • Gwinnett County (Georgia)
  • King County (Washington)
  • Miami-Dade Water & Sewer (Florida)
  • San Francisco Public Utilities Commission (California)
  • Tucson Water (Arizona)

Honorees will be recognized during an awards ceremony at WEFTEC 2017 this October in Chicago.

This entry was posted in Awards, Green Infrastructure, Sustainability, Utility Management, Utility of the Future. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.